Pandas are just drunk other bears.

Hello heatwave.

Temperatures neared 100° today in Portland.  The entirety of this week has been a sweaty nightmare, every day reaching the nineties.  This type of heatwave is a rarity in my part of New England.  (Perhaps not – maybe this happens every summer but my sunbaked brain simply blocks out the terrifying, sweltering memories?)  Either way, I don’t enjoy the heat.  If I had air conditioning and only needed to go outdoors to swim in the ocean, I would not mind it.  Unfortunately, work and poverty dictate otherwise, thus I find myself roasting in my third floor apartment.  Here at the parking garage we have a sputtering underdog of an air conditioner, and while I appreciate it’s efforts, the meager amount of air it expels is just not enough to cool me.  During childhood I waited all year for weather like this.  I had nothing to do other than lounge at the shore and drink plastic-encased sugar waters or loaf around in my parents’ pool.  There were always sandwiches, often Cheez-Its, and life was breezy.

I did make it to the ocean today, and swam one other time this week.  The water was crowded with people and seaweed, but nice.  I hear the heatwave is due to break over the weekend, and Maine will resume its regularly scheduled weather pattern on Monday with temperatures in the seventies.  I hope so, because I have a bunch of baking projects lined up for next week.

Josh and I fell into a dark hole of processed food consumption sometime around fall semester finals.  We’ve been living off of pizza and ice cream since about December.  We’ll have bouts of healthy eating, but they never seem to last more than a week at a time.  Thus, I’m revisiting an old method I used when converting from lifetime junk-food junkie to conscious eater: meal planning.  In addition to wanting a healthier diet, we are also attempting to limit our budget.  As of today, Josh and I have begun a week-long sabbatical from eating at restaurants (no takeout or delivery either!).  So now I’m really forced to figure out what the hell we’re going to eat this week.  Coming up with healthy things that both he and I enjoy is a slippery slope of hopelessness that typically results in frantic pizza ordering.  But I’ve worked really hard to come up with delicious, semi-healthy meal ideas.  Here’s what dinner will be:

Cauliflower ‘Macaroni&Cheese’ (recipe here: http://dianasaurdishes.com/03/cauliflower-macaroni-and-cheese-recipe/)

Whole-wheat soft tacos with veggie beef

Veggie Burgers with swiss cheese and veggie bacon, baked potatoes

Veggie Chicken Cutlets grilled with Scalloped Corn (recipe here: http://stylethatfood.com/?p=349)

Veggie Beef Skewers in soy sauce with brown rice and grilled edamame (recipe here: http://stylethatfood.com/?p=200)

Pineapple Fried Rice

Whole-wheat veggie pizza

We’ll still be consuming a lot of carbohydrates and cheese, but we’re taking this healthy thing in baby steps.

(Ugh.  There is a sizable moth in the garage booth as I am typing this.  I’ve already had one moth stuck in my hair this summer and I hope to avoid a repeat of the scenario.)

Anyways, healthy healthy, etc etc.  I’ll post pictures of any successful meals.

In not-as-boring news, Josh performed at a hip-hop show on Wednesday night.  His long-time friend, Charles (aka Moon Rocks: http://moonrocks.bandcamp.com/) put together a mix tape featuring his beats and lyrics from various individuals.  Josh’s track is #12: Lost in a World Maze.  The show was really fun, even though I had to leave stupidly early to get to bed in preparation for an early morning of work the next day.  Josh was a bit nervous, as it was his first time performing hip-hop, but here is the result:

One other fun adventure from earlier in the week was a trip to a Seadogs game!  My love of baseball and fried food combined to create one night of summer bliss.  Also, it was Josh’s first time at a baseball game.  The Seadogs lost miserably to the Bingingham Mets, but luckily minor league baseball is more about watching kids race mascots around the infield and crap like that, so we really enjoyed ourselves.  Gorging oneself in the outdoors seems to always make for a pleasant evening.  On the list of snacks we had at the game?  A soft pretzel, fried dough, french fries, soda, beer, and two ice cream sundaes.  Oh, also a Seadog biscuit (aka ice cream cookie sandwich).

(as you can see in this last picture, Josh was going to have fun whether he liked it or not.)

I think I’ll take a stroll around my little booth now and sea if any cold air is coming in off of the water.  Next time I report back, new projects of the craft and food variety will have been undertaken.

Leave a Reply

