That’s the thing about summer colds.

I would be a better blogger if I wasn’t working all of the time, really I would.  Lately when I’ve come to work at the garage, however, I’ve been too tired from my day job to do anything but play cashier and zone out on television when I don’t have any customers.  I thought summer vacations were for relaxing?  Oh well – I need to be extra careful that this journal doesn’t become an outlet for my rants regarding my employment situations.

In non-work news: Fourth of July was nice.  The weather, the company, and the explosives were all enjoyable.  On the evening of the third, I attempted a delicious project inspired by http://www.livelovepasta.com/2011/07/hamburger-cookies/ .  The recipe was exceedingly simple – the only items I omitted were the sesame seeds, and only because I didn’t have any on hand.  The cookies turned out to be quite cute and were enjoyed by all!

The morning of Independence Day, boyfriend and I lazed about in our oven of a third floor apartment.  He even picked me some flowers while running an errand, and we enjoyed them while sipping coconut smoothies.

The coconut smoothie recipe was inspired by http://www.girlcooksworld.com/2011/04/frozen-coconut-rum-drink.html and was thirst-quenching in the most serious of ways.

After a morning of relaxation, we trekked up to Portland’s Munjoy Hill to visit some friends hosting a barbeque (cue hamburger cookies).  There were water balloons thrown, squirt guns shot, and lots of beirut played.  Oh, and wigs.

After walking home to walk Teddy, we received a free, patriotic-as-hell cab ride back up Munjoy Hill, where we fought the crowds to ooh-and-ah at the fireworks.

Since the Fourth, I’ve been planning up a storm for some near future craftiness.  I’ve started making a plethora of yarn pom-poms for various uses, and have a tin can lantern project scheduled for this weekend.  It’s been tough to take on craft projects in the midst of working so often, but I hope to swap a little bit of work time for a bit more personal time before summer is over.

Leave a Reply

