…Traipse-around Thursday?

I failed miserably yesterday by not posting for Walkabout Wednesday.  I was caught up in a whirlwind of Russian class, working on a French project, and studying for an exam, so excuse me for the tardiness of this post.

I once worked in the outskirts of Portland, where Forest Avenue becomes Route 302 and the city turns quickly to Westbrook, then Windham.  I must have driven past the spot of this week’s walk at least ten times a week for the two years I was employed in that area.  How I never managed to visit this trail before now is a mystery (it perhaps has something to do with the fact that this particular trail head shares a parking lot with a waste management facility) but the paths around the Presumpscot Boat Launch are fascinating.  The area contains a few special attractions, the first of which is the remarkable landscape.  The terrain is varied and, while I haven’t explored much, there seem to be plenty of paths to try out.  There are also signs noting the previous activities of the Presumpscot River area – there was a trolley station and quite a busy waterway.  I want to do some more adventuring in this place soon – I wonder if I could scrounge up a few people who would like to have a picnic there with me?

Now I’m off to reformat the new blog I’ve started – it’s all about my Russian studies.  Hopefully I’ll have it fixed up and ready to share soon.

Leave a Reply

