Buttermilk Doughnut Muffins

During finals week, in a fit of stress and hunger, I made the most delicious muffins.  I feel like the term “muffins” is a misnomer, however, and a more apt name would be “Bite Size Mouth Sunshines” or “I Can Now Die Happies”.  Whatever one calls them, these butter-soaked, sugar-coated muffins are delicious and make me happy during even the bleakest hours of studying.

I adapted my version from this recipe.  In my version, I added nutmeg to my cinnamon/sugar mix, then using easily 10x as much of the stuff than the original recipe called for.  Oh, and I required far, far more butter than was used in the original recipe – I estimate that I used somewhere in the 3 1/2 sticks ballpark.

(Notice how filthy my kitchen is during that point in the semester!  But still fully functional and perfectly suited for making sugary snacks.)

Leave a Reply

