“For small creatures such as we the vastness is bearable only through love.” – Carl Sagan

I was walking through the hardware store today, trying to find my way to the pet-friendly rock salt, when I happened upon the utmost in glorious craft supplies: Martha Stewart Living Pink Luster Glitter Paint.

This is what my dreams are made of.  Firstly, pink is my favorite color.  Secondly, I firmly believe that all things are better when glittered.  I may get some sideways glances from friends when I explain that in my heart of hearts all I really want is for my entire world to be pretty, pink, and glittery – but what is there to be excited about in life if not teeny sparkling flecks and rosy hues?

Seeing this perfectly pink crafting paint set me on a dangerous, perhaps premature, path to thinking about Valentine’s Day.  I know it’s not everyone’s favorite day, but I enjoy it.  Even on years when I’ve been romantically flying solo, I’ve had lovely Valentine celebrations with friends.  The holiday has it’s faults, to be sure: it emphasizes consumerism, is lousy with heteronormativity, and increases feelings of loneliness in many single folks.  But I’m on a one-woman crusade to turn Valentine’s Day into what it should be: a day to celebrate all of the things in our lives worth loving.  Just like every day of celebration, I feel that Valentine’s Day should be an occasion to reflect on the good in our lives and provide a chance to appreciate loved ones.  As Kermit the frog once said, “Yeah, life would just pass in a blur if it weren’t for times like this.”

With all of this in mind, I began scouring the internet for Valentine’s Day crafting and baking inspiration.  I can’t wait to start making presents for the people I love.  Thus, I bring to you the notables near the shore Valentine’s Day Creativity Roundup: Part One!

1) I love pandas and googlie-eyes, so this Valentine’s card DIY holds a special place in my heart, c/o Paper Source.  2) These tiny felt hearts are actually pins!  I want to make one right away so I can make it a permanent fixture on my lapel, c/o the Purl Bee.  3) I desperately wanted to make poppers for New Years, but work dictated otherwise.  I hadn’t thought of making them for Valentine’s Day until I stumbled upon this tutorial for them, c/o CraftTown.  4) Pink isn’t the only color I’m fond of – purple is high in the ranks of my favorite hues as well.  This paper chain reminds me of my elementary school classrooms during the month of February, c/o Craft.  5) Perhaps the most perfect-looking cookies I’ve ever seen.  I will absolutely be trying my hand at these with the antique cookie-cutter I recently picked up, c/o Made With Love.  6) I love Mother Nature, and what better way to wish her a happy Valentine’s Day than by recycling?  I see these upcycled vases becoming a year-round fixture in my home, c/o Canadian Living’s Craft Blog.

That’s all for now, and I hope to have some Valentine craft success stories to share in the very near future.

Leave a Reply

