Valentine’s Day: It’s not as bad as you think, I swear!

As usual around this time of year, I’ve been hearing a lot of negativity directed at Valentine’s Day.  I had written an entire post of ways for the unattached to enjoy a day that is oft considered a couples-only event.  However, I decided that it’s not quite fair for me to preach to folks about cheering-up on a day when many are feeling justifiably miserable.  The commercialization of Valentine’s Day and it’s implications that to be worthy one must be coupled is enough to make anyone dread February 14th.  And while I think that the holiday should be about celebrating all forms of love (not just the romantic sort!), I understand those who have inclinations to hibernate for the day.

That said, I still have some fun things to share that may help take the edge off of next Tuesday:

First, there’s this article, in which Portland, Oregon residents were able to express Valentine’s Day wishes to their adored pets.  I really adore the idea of this article, and appreciate our friend, Emily, of Muffinhead Dog Coats, for sharing it on Facebook.  I think my favorite pet Valentine is the one that reads, “As soon as we locked eyes at the animal shelter, I knew we were to become inseparable. I don’t mind that you ate my favorite hat, and always steal and hide my socks. You are my best friend, and I love you so much. Thank you for being part of our family.  Love your mum.”  There’s a whole bunch of entries that tug on one’s heartstrings, and a slideshow of pet pictures at the end of the article!

Second is this story of friend-love between a bear and a wolf.  They began as playmates in their youth and still romp around together to this day.  It’s sort of hard to be in a bad mood after watching the video.

Next up I’d like to share this series of illustrations by artist Katie Vernon titled, “Heartwarming”.  HAHA, HEARTWARMING.  GET IT!?  Ahh, I love puns.

Alright, alright.  Lastly, for those of y’all not in-the-know about Stacey Q: you’ve been missing out.  This is her hit single, “Two of Hearts,” which has fueled many nights of dancing for myself and friends.  It’s a love song that will leave you feeling dancy instead of bummed out.  (Warning: This song and video are entirely ridiculous.)

Still feeling lousy about February 14th?  Send me an e-mail or leave me a comment – I will make you a card and treats of some kind, then send these items to you anywhere in the world.  Everyone deserves some love on Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

