Scary Movie Style Inspiration: House of the Devil

I love horror movies from the 1970s and 1980s.  Stylistically, they give me exactly what I’m looking for in a scary flick.  The problem with my love of these movies is that any modern imitations are typically laughable and over-the top.  An exception to this rule is Ti West’s House of the Devil.  Released in 2009, it is what I consider to be an ideal scary story.  West set out to pay homage to his favorite films from the 80s, and he did an exemplary job.

Every detail of the movie is entirely and realistically 80s, thus it harkens very much to my youngest years.  Certain design elements of House of the Devil could have been taken from my childhood home – the long-corded rotary phone, the wood-paneled television set.

One thing that I adore about this movie is its lead actress, Jocelin Donahue.  She’s perfect as babysitter and victim, Samantha Hughes.  The costume and makeup personnel crafted a perfectly 80s hairstyle and wardrobe for Donahue, and every time I watch House of the Devil I end up wanting high-waisted jeans and feathered hair.

I don’t think the still photos truly capture how charming she is, so here’s my favorite clip from the movie:

If you’re interested in seeing the entire film, it’s on Netflix Watch Instantly right now.  If you watch it, let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Scary Movie Style Inspiration: House of the Devil

  1. Heyy, thanks for the sweet comment. I was browsing your blog and came across this post..I get excited when I see a post about a good film! My boyfriend is a film major so he’s always showing me movies and we both loveee horror. Especially the old ones like you mentioned above! So, in one scene in “The house of The Devil” when one of the character’s head gets blown off in the car in the middle on no where, I told my bf, “heyy this has really good camera affects for an 80’s film” (he decided not to tell me what year it was from so I could take a guess myself). So he finally told me it was from 2009!! I was so amazed. Ti West did a brilliant job in making it look like a classic 80’s film. I also loved the main character’s style too. And the beginning of the move is great while she’s walking with her headphones…awesome.
    ❤ Daisy
    PS: I'll add your blog hope you add me too so we can keep in touch. Always nice to make new friends. 🙂

    blooomingdaisies.blogspot.com

    • Hi Daisy!

      I’m so glad to hear someone else likes that movie! I love scary movies, and I could watch that one over and over again. I’m mildly obsessed with Samantha’s 80s style in the film, too. She manages to make feathered hair look so damn good!

      Thank you so much for your comment!

      ❤ Andrea

Leave a Reply

