Pinterest DIY Inspiration: Homemade Laundry Soap

I’m sure y’all have realized: Pinterest is all over the place!  I’m clearly a big fan, as many of my recent posts have included photos I’ve found on the site.  I think the concept is fun, and I’m thoroughly enjoying sharing inspiration with my friends.  One thing I truly adore is how many DIY projects I’ve been able to find.  Over February break, I tried a few out, and today want to share my experience creating a batch of laundry soap.

The inspiration is here, which lead me to this post on the blog, Yellow Brick Home.  There are a mere three ingredients: Borax, Super Washing Soda, and Fels-Naptha.  Finding these isn’t difficult, although I needed to check two stores for the Super Washing Soda.  Otherwise, just grate the bar of Fels-Naptha, then mix with one cup washing soda and one cup Borax.  Stupidly simple, but leaves one feeling accomplished because 1) no more shelling out so much money for detergent, and 2) grating that Fels-Naptha bar really works the biceps!

The entire project cost less than $10 and I have plenty of Borax and Super Washing Soda for several more batches (or other projects!).

Cheap, easy, DIY!  Has anyone else seen or tried a laundry soap recipe?

9 thoughts on “Pinterest DIY Inspiration: Homemade Laundry Soap

    • Yes. It was so easy and I was so thrilled with the results. My clothes were cleaner and softer than any of the expensive laundry detergents have ever made them on the market. I am so happy and I am sharing the recipe with others.

  1. I too have been seeing this around the net. I just bought the ingredients (washing soda & borax) and some peppermint dr bronners soap to try a scented version of it. I’ve just been waiting until I run out of store bought laundry detergent first.

Leave a Reply

